Forum Connect

RFP for HSR?

• 1.  RFP for HSR?

Posted 10-22-2020 14:00
    Edited by Jennifer Robinson 10-22-2020 14:01
    I'm preparing to start an RFP for an HSR for a small house museum here in Philly, and I've never written an RFP before. Does anyone have an example for an RFP for HSR either that you've prepared or responded to that you felt was particularly well written and addressed your questions?

Where would you suggest I post this once it's ready?

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Jennifer Robinson
    jrobinson@preservationalliance.com

• 2.  RE: RFP for HSR?

Posted 10-23-2020 08:38
    Hi Jennifer - I don't have an RFP at hand but my advice is to define the scope of work for what the site needs to get out of the HSR. If someone were to follow the NPS Preservation Brief on HSRs literally, that could easily be a $100k effort which most likely overkill and may not even get at the site's real needs. I'd structure the RFP around the table of contents and go section by section, stating what work has already been done, and how much of the work is consolidating previous studies vs what new historical research and/or assessment Is required. Beyond the Preservation Brief, here's another excellent resource: http://npshistory.com/newsletters/crm/bulletin-v13n4.pdf

Shawn Evans
    Santa Fe NM

• 3.  RE: RFP for HSR?

Posted 10-24-2020 11:14
    Hi Jennifer,

Full HSR’s can be expensive as Shawn says. And I do recommend that you go to the NPS
    Preservation Brief #43 for some great information.

Another option would be getting a Needs Assessment which would be less expensive. At the Gibson House Museum in Boston,
    we did an HSR back in 2002 that focused only on the building’s systems. That allowed for us to apply for and receive an SAT
    grant to put in a fire safety system and upgrade our heating.

Later we had a needs assessment done which gave us enough information to apply for other grants for repairs on the
    building.