The 2016 National Preservation Awards

By Ana Bice posted 11-16-2016 15:25


The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies, and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. We are proud to acknowledge our outstanding 2016 recipients.

The 2016 National Preservation Awards are being presented throughout this week at the PastForward conference in Houston, Texas. Here are the recipients.[Below is the presentation video for two Driehaus awards and the Crowninshield Award]

Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards recognize the best in preservation projects, particularly those that highlight cutting-edge preservation approaches or technologies.

Chicago Athletic Association Hotel, Chicago, Illinois

Co-Recipients: AJ Capitol Partners; Geolo Capital; Agman Partners; Jones Lang LaSalle; Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture; Bulley and Andrews; Roman and Williams; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates; Forefront Structural Engineers; KJWW; MacRostie Historic Advisors

Charles W. Morgan
, Mystic, Connecticut

Co-Recipients: Susan Funk, Dana Hewson, Quentin Snediker, Rob Whalen, Staff of the Henry B. duPont Shipyard, Staff of the Mystic Seaport Museum

Stony Island Arts Bank
, Chicago, Illinois

Don’t miss they keynote from Stony Island Arts Bank’s Theaster Gates at the PastForward Closing Luncheon! Learn more about PastForward virtual attendance.

Co-Recipients: Theaster Gates, Jr.; Mercedes Zavala; Nootan Bharani, AIA; Lori Berko, Esq.; Mejay Gula; Tadd Cowen; Rebuild Foundation; MacRostie Historic Advisors; Fitzgerald Associates Architects; RTM Engineering; Stearn Joglekar Ltd. Structural Engineering; Rockey Structures; Chicago Community Loan Fund

Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award

The Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award is the National Trust’s biggest honor, celebrating a lifetime of achievement in historic preservation. This year, the National Trust honors two individuals:

Knox Mellon, Ph.D., and Paula Wallace

Remarks from Mellon and Wallace.

American Express Aspire Award for Emerging Leaders in Historic Preservation

The Aspire Award recognizes an emerging leader who has made significant achievements in the field of preservation.

Glenn A. Wilson, Flint, Michigan

President’s Award for National Leadership in Historic Preservation

The President’s Award honors a recipient who exemplifies an aspect of the National Trust’s work to save places.

Judge Ed Emmett, Houston, Texas

Judge Ed Emmett has been an indispensable ally in the fight to save Houston’s Astrodome.

Credit: Jim Lindbergh

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence

The Organizational Excellence Award celebrates a nonprofit organization that has demonstrated sustained and superlative achievement in historic preservation.

Utah Heritage Foundation, Salt Lake City, Utah

For 50 years, the Utah Heritage Foundation has been leading the preservation movement in Utah, saving countless historic places, raising awareness, and building lasting partnerships.


Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation

The Brink Award honors an individual who is not a career preservationist but who has made extraordinary contributions toward saving a historic place.

John Shuck, Richmond, Virginia

John Shuck’s leadership of East End Cemetery's cleanup effort has drawn thousands of volunteers and resulted in substantial progress toward reclaiming and preserving an important piece of history.


Trustees’ Emeritus Award for Historic Site Stewardship

The Sites Award recognizes success and innovation in historic preservation, management, and programming at historic sites.

Eastern State Penitentiary, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Bold preservation projects and a new exhibit on mass incarceration position Eastern State Penitentiary as a vibrant, relevant historic site where visitors encounter questions about justice in America.


John H. Chafee Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy

The Chafee Award recognizes a group of individuals who have done outstanding work in preservation advocacy and policy.

Texas Historical Commission, Austin, Texas

The Texas Historical Commission programs—which include the Texas Main Street program; the Texas Historic Courthouse Preservation Program, the 25 percent rehabilitation tax credit for historic buildings, and the recent research showing that preservation supports Texas jobs and generates revenue—positively impact the lives of Texas citizens.

LTV Tower | Credit: Michael Cagle

Rebecca Bice is the associate manager for Forum Member Engagement at the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

If you are playing the PastForward Challenge for points and prizes, please enter the following passcode for the challenge: Passcode: AWARDS23

#NationalPreservationAwards #PastForward #Astrodome #Houston2016