Federal Partnerships Award

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation

The National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) Award honors outstanding partnerships that advance the preservation of important historic resources and have an impact on the community. It celebrates a project or program in which a federal agency and one or more non-federal partners have achieved an exemplary preservation outcome. Award winners will be honored at PastForward 2021.

For inspiration, learn more about past years' awardees.

View a video of the 2020 Federal Partnerships Award recipient: U.S. General Services Administration Outleasing Program

We are now accepting nominations for the National Preservation Awards through February 15, 2021. Sign up for email reminders here


  • Nominations should specify the federal agency and non-federal partners contributing to the success of the project or program. List significant partners as co-nominees and provide contact information for each. Strong agency employee participation is necessary in addition to any contractor participation.
  • Nominations submitted in previous years that were not selected to receive an award may be updated and resubmitted.
  • Nominations may be made without the knowledge of the nominee, but nominees must be present, either in person or virtually as agreed upon with the National Trust, at the award ceremony to receive recognition.
  • Self-nominations will be accepted.
  • Properties owned by the National Trust for Historic Preservation will not be considered, nor will individuals or groups of individuals for their work relative to National Trust properties.

Award Criteria

The National Trust/ACHP award uses the same general evaluation criteria as the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards. The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Award nominees are judged for the success they have achieved in the preservation, rehabilitation, restoration, and interpretation of our architectural and cultural heritage.

The general evaluation criteria include the following:

  • Impact of the nominee’s project or effort on the community, including economic impact.
  • Quality and degree of difficulty of the nominee’s project or effort.
  • Degree to which the nominee’s project or effort is unusual or pioneering or serves as an example that influences others.

In addition, the following criteria apply to the National Trust/ACHP Award nominees:

  • Extent to which the completed project or established program demonstrates an exemplary federal role and a sustained federal/non-federal partnership and can serve as a model for other partnerships.
  • Preservation of a significant historic resource(s) through a creative team approach.
  • Demonstrated commitment to furthering a federal preservation ethic.
  • Long-term projects or programs are eligible if substantial achievements have been made within the last three years.
  • Preference will be given to projects that have achieved preservation outcomes in part through Section 106 review.

Award Benefits

The National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) Award recipient will receive:

  • Complimentary registration to the PastForward conference, as well as complimentary guest tickets to the award ceremony at the PastForward conference.
  • A physical award which will be presented at an awards ceremony during the PastForward conference


  • At least one representative of the recipient project/program must appear at the awards ceremony during the PastForward conference
  • Recipients are responsible for their own travel and lodging to PastForward
  • Recipients will be available to provide quotes and background information for press releases and other media surrounding the award and the award presentation
  • Recipients may be asked to give brief remarks during the awards ceremony
  • Recipients may be asked to write a blog post for the Preservation Leadership Forum blog and/or may be asked to contribute to Forum Journal
  • Recipients may be asked to serve as panel members for educational sessions at PastForward
  • Recipients will be asked to publicize their award through their social media channels, if applicable

Key Dates

  • January 4, 2021: Nomination period opens
  • February 15, 2021: Nomination forms due at 11:59 p.m. (your local time)
  • By July 1, 2021: Nominators and award recipients notified. The nominator will be notified for those not selected.
  • November 1-5, 2021: The award ceremony is currently scheduled to take place at PastForward 2021 in Washington, D.C. the week of November 1-5, 2021. Award recipients are required to be present, either in person or virtually as agreed upon with the National Trust, at their award presentation.

Nomination Process and Procedures

Nominators must complete one nomination form (requirements listed below) and submit it before the February 15, 2021 deadline in order for the nominee to be considered for the The National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) Award for Federal Partnerships. Self-nominations are accepted.

Nominations must conform to the procedures outlined on this page to be considered for an award from the National Trust for Historic Preservation. A link to the nomination can be found at the bottom of this page. Please be sure to read all guidelines and eligibility information before starting your nomination.

Nomination Requirements

In order to be considered for the Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence, a nomination including the following must be submitted by February 15, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. (your local time):

  • A completed nomination form that includes:
    • A concise narrative (7,500 characters or less including spaces) that describes the individual’s preservation achievements and addresses the award’s specific criteria (listed above)
    • Up to 5 brochures or news clippings
    • Up to 3 letters of recommendation
    • Up to 10 photos. We strongly recommend including one historic exterior photo, one current exterior photo, and photos showing the site pre- and post-renovation. 
    • Up to 2 video files related to the project/program. Examples: footage of preservation projects, community testimonials, news cuts, etc.

Nomination Form

All nominations must be submitted online. Paper submissions will not be accepted. 

Click here to access the National Preservation Awards submission form. To begin your nomination, you will need to sign up for a Submittable account or sign in to an existing Submittable account if applicable. Once you have signed into Submittable, the submission form will become available. Answer the first question according to which award category you are submitting a nomination for. If you wish to be considered for multiple categories, you will need to submit multiple nominations. Once you begin your nomination, you will be able to save your progress and return to the site to continue working on the form by clicking "Save Draft" at the bottom of the page.

If you have any questions, please contact Lizzy Barringer at awards@savingplaces.org.