National Preservation Awards

National Preservation Awards

The National Preservation Awards, presented annually at the PastForward Conference, are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation.

For More Information

Have questions? Email or call (202) 588-6084.

To receive email updates about the National Preservation Awards, sign up for our email list below. 

Sign Up

Congratulations to the 2017 National Preservation Award Winners!

The 2017 National Preservation Award winners were announced at PastForward in Chicago. To learn more about these projects watch the videos and read more on the Forum blog. Learn more about this years Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Award winners in the Preservation Magazine stories below. 

Hamnett Place Neighborhood


Credit: Rob Larson


2016 National Preservation Awards

See the Full List



Credit: Tom Fowlks


2017 National Preservation Awards

The nomination period for the 2017 National Preservation Awards is closed.

Award nominators and awardees will be notified July 14. Winners will be announced to the public in November at the 2017 PastForward Conference in Chicago.


Washington Hall


Credit: Eirik Johson


2015 National Preservation Awards

See the full list